• posts group under respective heading

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 26 other followers

  • History

Santa the overgrown Puppy.

santa

As of today he is 2.5years old. Supposed to an adolescent by now. However he still behaves like a puppy.
Every evening when I am in my study on my computer, we will sleep just outside the room away from the light. However the moment , I leave for for bed room to retire for the night,  by the count of 5 he will be in the room. His favourite sleep place is at the foot of our bed.

Even in the day time, on occasion, I will take a nap during the weekend, the moment I am in the bedroom, he will be in within a minute. At time I am wondering if he is spying my movement.
When we go for a lash free walk, the max distance we will walk away from me is no more than 10ft, thereafter he will turn his head to see if I am behind him. We will move on only when  I move toward him. His is able to read hand signal very well. Proceed straight – if I stretch out my arm out and wave my palm outward. Turn left/right if I move my arm to the respective position.

He is always the one to greet me when I return from work, and will stay to pawl my legs. A good body rub will calm him down. BUT will walk towards the shelf where we keeps his titbits, expecting a reward. He always get this titbit.

Normally chow chow does not like to play or mix around with other dogs. Santa is unique, he does not have this characteristic, whenever he sees a dog, he will rush over and try to be friendly. If the dog does not responses to his invite he will start to bark. He has no preference big or small dog is fair game.

Whenever we go fishing I have keep an eye on him, as he loves to walk around the water edge and wet himself all over. If I land a fish and allow it to flip around on the ground, he will bark his head off.But will make no attempt go near or even smell the fish.

Love to play with his balls, he have 3 rubber balls of various sizes, his favourite is the one that is small enough for him to carry in this mouth. If we are sitting around he will  entice one of us to play with him. He is a very good dribbler, able to dribbler  the ball between his 2 front pawls and move the ball around. If we are around, he will dribbles the ball toward us and happiness to him is when we pick up the ball and throw it. Chasing after the ball and dribbling it back to us over an over again until we call it a day.

His best attributes: when out for a walk he will not disturb passerby, make not attempt to move toward strangers. Pooh at designated area without fail. Not a fussy eater,eat what is given. Very alert, will move towards the door and start barking if there is a slight sound. Many a time we are not even aware a stranger had just passed by our door. Bark furiously, but will make no attempt to bite nor nip at stranger. 
Stranger to our house, bark and calm down once we invite the stranger in and make a piss sign. Does not have the habit of jumping up on stranger. Does not dig or mess up flower beds. Does not beg for food when are eating. Well behaviour when visiting the Vet and groomer.

Minor disturbing  behaviour : Will start to pawl us after his evening meal ,if we do not bring him out for a walk. Very impatient,will keep whining until he is out off the door. Loves to chase after cats,squirrel. fowls and birds.

His favourite: Play ball, eat,car ride, lash free outing in the natural reserve.

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

